Using frustration with our medical systems for good

Over the past year I have become more and more frustrated by our medical systems in the United States, particularly in the state I live in – Georgia. I have become so frustrated that I have decided to do something about it – start a blog and become a simulated patient at the medical college to help future doctors care for patients (more about the simulated patient experience later).

When I attended the training for being a simulated patient for medical students I learned that we are facing a doctor shortage in my state which explained some of the difficulty I had in finding doctors who were accepting new patients or who had appointments within a 3 month window for existing patients.

Over the past year, my husband and I turned 40 and we had 7 ER visits, 4 hospitalization of 3 or more days, 2 significant surgeries, and several “minor” procedures. We have had countless CTs and MRIs and ultrasounds this year.

We aren’t experts but we have learned a great deal about being patients and how to navigate the complicated medical system. I am writing this blog because I am passionate about healing and wholeness and about helping others find good care and find answers to their questions. We have had excellent care and we have received care that is worthy of a lawsuit and care that I filed a complaint against. I am not against medical professionals and have utmost respect for doctors, nurses, surgeons, techs, pharmacists, and all medical professionals that care for sick and hurting people so this isn’t a blog to bash doctors. This is a blog to help the average person take control of their medical care, learn to ask questions, answer questions and get the best care possible.

I am a pastor and have visited countless people and their families in the hospital. I have witnessed frustration and confusion. I myself have experienced the same thing. My husband is a pharmacist so we truly do respect medicine and the medical community. This blog is for patients. And for doctors or other medical professionals wondering what it is like to be a frustrated and confused patient sitting on the other side of the table or bed.

Leave a Reply

